This weekend saw two more regions host their Smokefreerockquest finals and showcase all the talent they have to offer.

Metal five-piece Constant Decay from Feilding High School took out the Manawatu regional final of Smokefreerockquest in front of a crowd of around 300 at Regent Theatre on Friday night.

Drummer Sam Shore said the win came after a lot of practice, having been spurred on from winning the regional finals last year.

“We really tried to give the audience a good show and I felt it helped everything slot together on stage. We made sure we gave it absolutely all we had and had a great time,” he said. “There was a lot of pressure after winning last year and it was a euphoric moment as well as a moment of relief when we found out we had won. All of the acts tonight were incredible.”

The other members of Constant Decay are Brendan MacFarlane (vocals), Bailey Jewell (lead guitar), Jayden Kuyper (rhythm guitar), and Tipuna Rakatairi (bass).


Constant Decay

While in Canterbury eight-piece Fuzhun from Shirley Boys’ High School turned their dreams into reality when they took out their regional final in front of a crowd of 250 at The Bedford on Friday night.

The ‘island vibe reggae’ band incorporate pacifica movement and dance into their performance. Frontman Gideon Valavala says each member brings an energy that transforms their songs when they play live.

“It’s all about the dream, you know, everyone’s always talking but it’s about putting those words into action,” he says. “We practice hard but we bring the vibe when we start hitting it together and there’s just nothing like it. We gotta thank our God too, you know, he’s blessed us with these talents and without Him we wouldn’t have them.”

The other members of Fuzhun are Michael Mose (backing vocals), Temuera Hayb (rhythm guitar), Toa Osai (bass), Tasipale Valavala (drums), Josh Mosa’ati (brass/keyboard), John Lauvao (backing vocals), and Keenan Jarvis (vocals). Fuzhun also won the Smokefree Pacifica Beats Award.

Congratulations to all the winners!


Manawatu Finals Results:

Band 1st: Constant Decay – Feilding High School

Band 2nd: Hymns & her – Dannevirke High School

Band 3rd: Retenu – Solway College

Smokefree Pacifica Beats Award (announced at heats): Abbey and Vili – Waiopehu College

Solo/Duo 1st (announced at heats): Peyton Morete – Kapiti College

Solo/Duo 2nd (announced at heats): Lewis Kingston – Palmerston North Boys’ High School

APRA Lyric Award: Lewis Kingston – Palmerston North Boys’ High School

Dominate Style Award: Fusion – Manawatu College

Lowdown Best Song: Hymns & her for Clockwork – Dannevirke High School

The Mainz Musicianship Award: Daniele Hao-Aickin from Retenu – Solway College

Smokefree Vocals Award: Peyton Morete – Kapiti College

People’s Choice voted by text: Fruit Juice Parade – Palmerston North Girls’ High School


Canterbury Finals Results:

Band 1st: Fuzhun – Shirley Boys’ High School

Band 2nd: Ancora – Burnside High School

Band 3rd: Accretion Disk – Hagley Community College

Smokefree Pacifica Beats Award: Fuzhun – Shirley Boys’ High School

Solo/Duo 1st (announced at heats): Keith Dela Providencia and Caitlin Wright (Keith and Cait) – Burnside High School

Solo/Duo 2nd (announced at heats): Neil MacLeod – St Andrew’s College

APRA Lyric Award: “Black Jack” by Josh Santich from Ancora – Burnside High School

Dominate Style Award: Accretion Disk – Hagley Community College

Lowdown Best Song: Midnight things – St Bedes College

The Mainz Musicianship Award: Lawrence Miller (guitar), The Blind Fishermen – Cashmere High School

Smokefree Vocals Award: Cayden Hagenaar from Accretion Disk – Hagley Community College

People’s Choice voted by text: MCB – Marian College


For more info on Smokefreerockquest check out their website.