TEARAWAY has nine YA books for you to delve into in 2016.

#1. Demon Road 2: Desolation

By: Derek Landy

Release date: April

The second book in the mind-blowing new supernatural thriller from bestselling author Derek Landy, creator of international sensation Skulduggery Pleasant.

Reeling from their bloody encounter in New York City, Amber and Milo flee north. On their trail are the Hounds of Hell – five demonic bikers who will stop at nothing to drag their quarries back to their unholy master. Amber and Milo’s only hope lies within Desolation Hill – a small town with a big secret; a town with a darkness to it, where evil seeps through the very floorboards. Until, on one night every year, it spills over onto the streets and all hell breaks loose. And that night is coming.

“I spent the entire day reading in a fervent daze and cannot wait until this book is released for the rest of the world so I can scream about it at people. I had INCREDIBLY high standards – Skulduggery Pleasant is my favourite series, and a LOT [of hype] was generated about this book in the year since [it] was first teased – and I was still BLOWN AWAY by how much I loved it.” – GoodReads Mooncactus 5/5 stars.

#2. The Passion of Dolssa

By: Julie Berry

Release date: April

From the author of the award-winning All The Truth That’s In Me comes a book that will make you wonder if miracles really are possible. Buried deep within the archives of a convent in medieval France lies an untold story of love, loss and magic – and the two girls at the heart of it all.

Dolssa is an upper-crust city girl with an uncanny gift. Branded a heretic, she’s on the run from the monk who burned her mother at the stake and wants her executed. Botille is a matchmaker and a tavern-keeper, who rescues Dolssa and shelters her. Botille does her best to nurse Dolssa back from the brink of death and hide her from those hunting her down. But all of Botille’s tricks, tales, and cleverness can’t protect them forever, and when the full wrath of the Church bears down upon Bajas, Botille’s good intentions could destroy the entire village.

#3. This is Where the World Ends

By: Amy Zhang

Release date: April

A heart-wrenching new novel from the critically acclaimed author of Falling Into Place, Amy Zhang. Janie and Micah, Micah and Janie. That’s how it’s been ever since elementary school, when Janie Vivien moved next door. Janie says Micah is everything she is not. Where Micah is shy, Janie is outgoing. Where Micah loves music, Janie loves art. It’s the perfect friendship – as long as no one finds out about it. But then Janie goes missing and everything Micah thought he knew about his best friend is coloured with doubt.

Using a non-linear writing style and dual narrators, Amy Zhang masterfully reveals the circumstances surrounding Janie’s disappearance in an astonishing second novel that will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver and Jay Asher.

#4. Geek Girl 5: Head Over Heels

By: Holly Smale

Release date: March

Harriet Manners knows almost every fact there is. She knows duck-billed platypuses don’t have stomachs. And for once, Harriet knows exactly how her life should go. She’s got it ALL planned out. So when love is in the air, Harriet is determined to Make Things Happen! If only everyone else would stick to the script. Has Geek Girl overstepped the mark, and is following the rules going to break hearts all over again?

#5. Allegiant – Film Tie-in

By: Veronica Roth

Release date: March

One choice will define you. What if your whole world was a lie? What if a single revelation – like a single choice – changed everything? What if love and loyalty made you do things you never expected?

The explosive conclusion to Veronica Roth’s No. 1 New York Times bestselling Divergent trilogy reveals the secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers and film fans in Divergent and Insurgent. This special edition contains never before seen bonus content!

#6. Radio Silence

By: Alice Oseman

Release date: March

What if everything you set yourself up to be was wrong? Frances has always been a study machine with one goal: elite university. Nothing will stand in her way; not friends, not a guilty secret – not even the person she is on the inside. But when Frances meets Aled, the shy genius behind her favourite podcast, she discovers a new freedom. He unlocks the door to Real Frances and for the first time she experiences true friendship, unafraid to be herself. Then the podcast goes viral and the fragile trust between them is broken. Caught between who she was and who she longs to be, Frances’ dreams come crashing down.

It’s only by facing up to your fears that you can overcome them. And it’s only by being your true self that you can find happiness. Frances is going to need every bit of courage she has.

A YA coming of age read that tackles issues of identity, the pressure to succeed, diversity and freedom to choose, Radio Silence is a tour de force by the most exciting writer of her generation.

#7. The Siren

By: Kiera Cass

Release date: February

Throughout the ages, the Ocean has occasionally rescued young women from drowning.

To repay their debt, these young women must serve for 100 years as Sirens, remaining young and beautiful and using their deadly voices to lure strangers into watery graves.

Kahlen became a Siren after her family died in a terrible shipwreck, decades ago. And though a single word from her can kill, she can’t resist spending her days on land, watching ordinary people and longing for the day when she will be freely among them again. Kahlen is resigned to finishing her sentence in solitude… until she meets Akinli.

Handsome, caring, and kind, Akinli is everything Kahlen ever dreamed of. And though she can’t talk to him, they soon forge a connection neither of them can deny… and Kahlen doesn’t want to. Falling in love with a human breaks all of the Ocean’s rules, and if the Ocean discovers Kahlen’s feelings, she’ll be forced to leave Akinli for good. But for the first time in a lifetime of following the rules, Kahlen is determined to follow her heart.

#8. Not If I See You First

By: Eric Lindstrom

Release date: January

Parker Grant doesn’t need perfect vision to see right through you. That’s why she created the Rules: Don’t treat her any differently just because she’s blind, and never take advantage. There will be no second chances.

When Scott Kilpatrick, the boy who broke her heart, suddenly reappears at school, Parker knows there’s only one way to react – shun him so hard it hurts. She has enough to deal with already, like trying out for the track team, handing out tough-love advice to her painfully naive classmates, and giving herself gold stars for every day she hasn’t cried since her dad’s death.

But avoiding her past quickly proves impossible, and the more Parker learns about what really happened – both with Scott, and her dad – the more she starts to question if things are always as they seem. Combining a fiercely engaging voice with true heart, Not If I See You First illuminates those blind spots that we all have in life, whether visually impaired or not.

#9. Passenger

By: Alexandra Bracken

Release date: February

Etta Spencer is a violin prodigy. When tragedy strikes and a mysterious power tied closely to her musical abilities manifests, Etta is pulled back through time to 1776 in the midst of a fierce sea battle.

Etta learns her fate is entwined with an object of untold value from her past. Embarking on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind from a mysterious traveller, the true nature of the object could mean the end for Etta …

Highly anticipated novel from New York Times best-selling author of The Darkest Minds trilogy.

“Grabs you by the heart from its opening notes and doesn’t let you go until its knockout, blockbuster finale.” – Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series

SHARE THIS POST...
Facebooktwitterpinterestmail

FOLLOW US...
Facebooktwitteryoutubeinstagram