By TRACY CHEN.

School holidays are finally here, and it’s the perfect time to relax and chill after a long term! These five books are all quite different, but all very special in their own way. So if you’re finding yourself in need of a gripping holiday read, give these a try!

 

What I Saw#1. What I Saw by Beck Nicholas

This book had me in its grip from the very first page. School captain and perfect student Callie Jones finds herself witnessing a fight that lands the town’s popular boy in a coma. Bad boy Rhett Barker, unsurprisingly, finds himself blamed. But he and Callie both know he didn’t do it. All Rhett has to do is convince Callie to come forward with the truth, but, for once, good girl Callie isn’t that interested in telling the truth. Just what is she hiding, and why?

I’m a sucker for any ‘bad boy meets good girl’ story, but the love story here was rather fast and cheesy at times. However, I loved how Nicholas crafted Callie’s decision to tell the truth to have a lot of depth; it made me really consider the consequences and ethical dilemma of Callie’s choice. Overall, What I Saw is l a great read and I bet you won’t be able to put it down!

 

Follow me back#2. Follow Me Back by Nicci Cloke

This one is perfect for fans of Gone Girl and any detective novels.

Aiden Kendrick and Lizzie Summersall used to be friends, but they aren’t anymore. When Lizzie disappears after chatting to strangers on Facebook, Aiden finds himself discovering a new side to Lizzie, but he doesn’t know that her disappearance is about to send his life on a twisted and desperate turn.

I’ll admit, I underestimated this book at first because the concept of social media can sometimes be quite predictable. But I didn’t expect to be so captivated by this book. I followed every clue and every discovery, on the edge of my seat. The characters were believable, and the author completely and utterly had me fooled. The ending was shocking and unexpected – but it’s up to you to read it for yourself…

 

Sing#3. Sing by Vivi Greene

I literally finished this in one sitting because it was so engaging and easy to read!

Pop icon Lily Ross is escaping her crazy life and heading to a secluded island with her best friends. She plans to focus – on her music and her new album – anything but guys. That is, until she meets Noel Bradley, who’s unlike any guy she’s met before. But when it’s time to leave the island and go back on tour, Lily is forced to choose between her Noel and her music.

I don’t know about you, but that sounds awfully like a real life pop star who we all know (cough-Taylor-Swift-cough). It was still a great read, although Lily was sometimes so self-obsessed I wanted to scream. But I liked the message that the book sends, and who doesn’t enjoy a sweet love story, complete with kick-ass best friends and jerk ex-boyfriends? If you’re wanting a light holiday read, Sing is for you!

 

White lies black dare#4. White Lies, Black Dares by Joanna Nadin

This book is about Asha Wright, a private school girl with big dreams, who moves to the local school when her mum gets cancer. Immediately, Asha singles out Angel Jones, the popular girl, who is everything Asha wants to be. But being in Angel’s group comes at a cost, and Asha is forced to play a dangerous game of truth or dare.

This is essentially a novel about fitting in, and how far you would go to gain other people’s acceptance. It’s written in a casual tone, from Asha’s perspective, and I found that I could totally relate to Asha’s desire to be a part of a certain group in school. This is a great book for anyone who wants a light read with an interesting storyline.

 

My name is Lucy Barton#5. My Name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout

Lucy Barton is recovering slowly from an operation. When her estranged mother visits, gentle gossip masks long-held tensions and longings.

This novel is quite different. It’s not very action-based; most of the time it’s Lucy in her hospital bed, reflecting on her past and present. But something about the way it’s written really gets to you. Strout successfully manages to portray complex human emotions in such a gentle way. It’s one of those books that doesn’t end with a ‘BAM’, but leaves you thinking about it for days. Don’t worry, it’s super easy to read, so definitely check it out if you want to read something a bit more subtle and thought-provoking!

 

Have you got any great holiday book suggestions? Let us know! @TEARAWAYMAG on Twitter and Facebook.

SHARE THIS POST...
Facebooktwitterpinterestmail

FOLLOW US...
Facebooktwitteryoutubeinstagram